The Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios is located in Lamego on the hill of Santo Estêvão and is one of the main pilgrimage churches in the country.
From Avenida Dr. Alfredo de Sousa, in the centre of Lamego, there is an immense staircase that climbs to the top of the hill, where the Sanctuary is located. Built in 1750, it was only completed in 1905 and replaced the chapel dedicated to Santo Estêvão.
As time went by, devotion to Santo Estêvão waned and devotion to the Virgin grew, who was the object of the prayers of those who suffered from illnesses and needed help, which gave rise to the devotion to Nossa Senhora dos Remédios (Our Lady of Remedies).
The Sanctuary and the long staircase of 686 steps up the hill are surrounded by a dense wood, the Park of Santo Estêvão, which gives a mystical air to the whole. The park is a very pleasant place with several resting places.
Along the staircase we find several levels, where we find several works of art. Sculptures with varied motifs, fountains, obelisks, tile panels and a chapel are some of the works you can find.
From the Sanctuary the view over Lamego is formidable. This is one of the must-see sites in the region.
The temple presents in its façade traces of the baroque and rococo style. Granite stone was used in its construction.
Inside, in the main altar, there is an image of Our Lady of Remédios, sculpted in wood. Next to it, there are three stained glass windows with images of Our Lady of Conceição, the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Annunciation.
Festivities and Pilgrimage of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
The traditional festivities of the town and pilgrimage of Nossa Sra dos Remédios take place every year between 6 and 8 September.